Rear axle

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ludwig

Supporting Member
Reaction score
IMG_20160826_202113.jpg
Hi, I just finished installing the rear wheel and noticed a space between the swingarm and the caliper bracket. Everything is torqued to spec. Is this space something that I should worry about? Is something missing?

Missing the spacer, it looks like. Caliper bracket should be flush against the swingarm with the spacer inboard of that...I think. Going from memory here.

EDIT: I'm thinking GL1000. There are a few differences. YMMV

That's what I was thinking. But when I looked at the diagram blowups it shows only the inner spacer. I have the inner spacer in the hub, then the washer, then the caliper bracket. That's the way I've been riding it for 5 years. I can't seem to find any photos of the 1980 all I can find is 82 and 83. The Honda parts list doesn't show any outer spacer. I haven't driven the bike yet and I'm not sure if I should.

I did a little more looking and I found a picture in the manual. It's the only one I could find. It looks like it's supposed to be like that. The number 3 part is in. I put #3 then flat washer then the bracket. Then drove the axle in till it was seated. This is the way I bought the bike, well I'll find out for sure next week when I finish putting it back together. That diagram is showing the inner spacer, I guess the 80 didn't have an outer spacer. I don't know.

80-81 are different from the 82-83 yrs .....are you out of threads on the other side of axle ...seems to me it should draw the axle to the spacer till gap is gone ...then you clamp down the tension bolt on swing arm ....