DMR (Digital Mobile Radio) gettin' installed on my Wing

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

n2ppn

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi,

As some of you know I am also a Ham Radio Operator. I am going to swap out my dual band (VHF/UHF) radio on the Wing for a DMR one this spring....

I have been "playing around" with DMR and am impressed by it's better performance over analog radios I have used in the past.

The mere fact that ALL the transmissions and reception are crystal clear with no noise alone makes this great for the bike....

I will be using an older Motorola XPR-6350 walkie talkie (only has 16 channels and no display) coupled to my SENA SMH-10 Bluetooth Headset via the SR-10 Bluetooth Hub that connects to the radio.

When it's all finished I'll post some pics and how it performs from the bike... (sometimes had wind noise or road noise issues while travelling at "highway" speeds)

Should be pretty cool as I will be able to talk world wide while tooling around town.. :moped:

73 de N2PPN
Rich

Naw, just good "ole English...
Most of the Ham Operators I speak to speak english..

All the needed parts are on their way from all over the globe... should be rerady in a week or two...

Gotta get ready for the "Blizzard" coming our way tomorrow...

SnowBlower to the ready!!!

Rich
:moped: "N2PPN Motorcycle Mobile"

I'm a fairly new Tech. Class operator and I've been thinking about adding a radio to my bike. What kind of advice might you offer for antenna setup?

Thanks,
BAM
KK4OKW

Hi BAM, If you go to my album https://www.classicgoldwings.com/forum/gallery/album.php?album_id=871 you can see my setup...

A HT is the way to go with a mobile antenna... I use a Diamond NR-770H antenna and a dual band Woxoun HT... I am switching over to a Motorola XPR Digital HT in a couple of weeks, to try out the DMR aspect on the bike..