Leaking oil from front fork-GL1200

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tom.believes

Reaction score
I'm new to the Goldwing site. I also don't have any specialized tools for working on my bike. GL1200, 1984. I noticed last night that my front tire had oil all over it, and my front right fork was the probable location of the leak. I looked up the repair in my manual, and thought this might be more than I could manage for a repair. I normally don't shy away from minor repairs to my car or bike...
Is this more than a novice could handle by himself, and if so, what would be a ballpark estimate for a shop to handle?
Thanks for any input!
Tom

:hi: Welcome to the site Tom :salute:
Its not an easy task... Thats why i havnt done the job myself to my bike yet
Some of the guys here thats done the job will let you in on some advise here shortly

DEPENDS ON HOW MUCH THE SHOP CHARGES FOR doing the repair.. and what you want done to the bike... at issue is it is faired (interstate, vetter) would you take the forks in to them or the whole bike.. and your opinion on difficult ( one member's teenaged highschool daughter helped him with his..) some have replaced the seals with the forks left on the bike and still in the triple tree... tools needed.. allen wrench set, sockets, hand wrenches, screw driver, maybe a powered impact driver, with allen socket bits.. place to work and patience.. check this forum for tips and a couple of the other goldwing forums such as north american goldwing forum..

Hey Tom, welcome to the site from New Jersey! :music: