AGM Battery

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcgovern61

Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My Bike Models
Former '82 GL1100 "The Slug"
I finally replaced my battery with an AGM type. I went to AutoZone for the "Extreme Magna Power ETX18L" for $89.99. Turns out, the battery is actually a DEKA ETX18L! I have a lot of experience with DEKA batteries on boats and ships and they have always performed well! This battery came fully charged and ready to go.

I have installed a voltmeter in my Standard via the accessory tang in the fuse holder to keep an eye on the voltage in the past and was interested in how the new battery is holding voltage and how high it charges. The highest charge on the meter is 14.8 VDC. At the battery, the highest voltage is 15.2 VDC. The stator is putting out all right! When I come to a stop and the fan comes on with the brake light and turn signal on, the meter shows 12.2 VDC. Increase RPM a little and it is right back up at 14.8 in seconds!

Bike is starting quicker too! I guess my next question is does this battery need a tender over the winter?

That's the same batt I bought earlier this year, upon recommendations. It spins the bike over much faster than the old one. So far, I'm extremely pleased with it. If you do decide to get a tender for it, be sure it is AGM compatible...some are not...or so the ads say. They make different ones for different types of batteries, so I gotta assume they charge differently. :read:

Gerry from what I've read about most AGM's is there's no need to keep them on a charger when stored for extended periods as long as there's is NO parasitic load on it like the preset memory on a radio.

My own experience with an Odyssey is that holds true, I don't know about other brands so if I were you I'd contact the manufacturer and ask them.