LOGIN  
Welcome to Classicgoldwings Chat Live Chat:   >   It is currently September 22nd, 2018, 10:29 am
Who Is Online: Ansimp, charles franz .... 2 guests
Jump to:  

Portal » Forums » Repairs and Modifications » Goldwing Customizing

Welcome to Classic Goldwings!
You are now viewing the forums as a guest which has very limited access to the forums.
Log in or create a free account.

Print view
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message

Offline

 Post subject: Would this relay work?
Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#1  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 6:57 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

I am thinking about adding a relay for the ignition on my '82. I have have a couple of these kicking around my garage for the past 20 years and am wondering if they would be suitable. They have 12vdc coils and contacts are rated at 10a @ 120vac or 30vdc.

What do you think?

Thanks
Brian

27607
27608
27609

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#2  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 7:05 am

User avatar
**** **
**** **
Site supporter
Single Carb Club
C5 Club

Joined: December 8th, 2009, 1:21 pm
Last visit: Yesterday, 7:19 am

Total Posts: 17773
Active Topics: 185

Total Images: 1718
Location: chuluota florida
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 2:29 pm
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: A bunch in the works
My Bike Logs forum link: viewforum.php?f=121

Profile Personal album

My YouTube Channel
looks great to me ..for ignition only ... not sure it would be enough for lights ...sheesh id like to have one of those look quality built

_________________________________

Image

thank god and hooch im gone


Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#3  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 7:06 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

Actually, 10a is for resistive loads...maybe for switching power to coils it would be the 7.5a rating.

Brian

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#4  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 7:10 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

I was thinking that the coil resistance, with the ballast resistor is about 3ohms. So that would be about 4amps so 7.5amp rating should be OK. :read: :good:

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#5  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 7:32 am

User avatar
**** **
**** **
Site supporter
Single Carb Club
C5 Club

Joined: December 8th, 2009, 1:21 pm
Last visit: Yesterday, 7:19 am

Total Posts: 17773
Active Topics: 185

Total Images: 1718
Location: chuluota florida
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 2:29 pm
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: A bunch in the works
My Bike Logs forum link: viewforum.php?f=121

Profile Personal album

My YouTube Channel
im on thin ice here not sure on the numbers game .... but i have used the cheaper relays and they suck ... a wire nut it better .. it was dropping voltage right at the relay ...junk junk junk

_________________________________

Image

thank god and hooch im gone


Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#6  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 8:26 am

User avatar
Global Moderator
C5 Club

Joined: June 12th, 2010, 6:35 am
Last visit: Today, 1:43 am

Total Posts: 14883
Active Topics: 151

Total Images: 112
Location: eastern Ohio
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 2:29 pm
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: 98 Valkyrie, 84 Standard, X2 80GL1100,81GL1100,82KZ750,81 Seca750 ++


Profile Personal album

I've used the cheap light relays with no problem. The one on my KZ is about 5 years old now. Electrical items are a crap shoot. Some are reliable and last while others fail quickly.

_________________________________

Vote NO on taxes, levies, and incumbents.
Every day I learn I know less than I thought I did.
Every time something is made idiot proof. The world produces a better idiot!
Maturity like wisdom seldom arrives without age. Far too often though age arrives without either.
ImageImage Image
Politicians are like diapers. They need changed often. For the same reason.
A fine is tax you pay for doing wrong. A tax is fine you pay for doing well.
Second place makes you first loser.


Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#7  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 8:57 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

I think I'm going to go ahead and do it. :builder: I have two of them so, as long as it is mounted in an accessible location, I can carry the other as a spare and plug it in if needed.

Now to figure out the wiring... :headscratch:

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#8  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 12:36 pm

User avatar
**** **
**** **
Site supporter
knocker
C5 Club
Single Carb Club

Joined: December 3rd, 2009, 8:59 am
Last visit: Today, 7:14 am

Total Posts: 20875
Active Topics: 827

Total Images: 4101
Location: Van Nuys Ca.
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 10:29 am
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: 1983 Interstate with '84 1200 engine, Solex single carb, and C5 ignition.
2016 KLR 650
2018 Ducati V4S
My Bike Logs forum link: viewforum.php?f=122

Profile Personal album

My YouTube Channel
It says 7.5 amps at 30VDC general use so it might be rated at barely enough but that doesn't mean it won't handle the load.
Spares that don't cost anything are better tried than buying something that might fail anyhow, those look like quality relays.

_________________________________

PLEASE! Use your Gallery album for saving pictures instead of using attachments or picture sharing sites, especially technical reference pics. This will make sure your images will ALWAYS be in your post and the discussion thread will make sense!
Go HERE and learn how to use the Gallery.


Image Image ImageClick to order CGW Stuff

If you know someone can embroider our 3" patch, let me know!
My photo gallery
How to use the Gallery, Part 1, Part 2

How to add your bike photo to the rotating banner and our Banner Rides Page.


Image


Top  

Online

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#9  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 1:27 pm

User avatar
**** **
**** **
Site supporter

Joined: January 27th, 2013, 2:52 pm
Last visit: September 20th, 2018, 3:57 am

Total Posts: 8942
Active Topics: 146

Total Images: 1126
Location: Brisbane Australia
Local time: September 23rd, 2018, 4:29 am
Country:  Australia (au)
My Bike Models: 1981 GL1100 Vetter "Rats Nest"
1987 CBR1000f Naked "The Pig"
1991 CBR1000f "Red"
1998 GL1500c "Val"


Profile Personal album

My YouTube Channel
Is that a modular/socket base mount or is it directly (soldered) attached to the relay? Sometimes these style of relays don't perform well in a moving/vibrating environment as they may of been designed for a fixed installation.

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#10  Unread postPosted: September 1st, 2015, 3:46 pm

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

The relay plugs into the base with with 8 pins. It's pretty hard to pull the relay out of the base but you make a good point about vibration...might be an issue. As you know, a GW doesn't hardly vibrate at all. :Egyptian:

You probably wouldn't want to mount it pointing down or to the side. :nea: Also you could put a zip tie around it. :fishin:

Brian

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#11  Unread postPosted: September 2nd, 2015, 6:50 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

Did a bit of searching about how to wire in relay: looks like power to coils only is what is switched. I was thinking to switch power to all ignition loads after the kill switch, that is coils and igniters but I guess that is not necessary...just switch coils. Is that right?

I am running Neon coils and the OE ballast resistor. My thinking there was that coil resistance is .7 ohms so with ballast resistor, resistance is about 3 ohms which is needed to not destroy the igniters. Is that right?

The wires going to/from resistor are very skinny...probably #16. Is there anything I can do about that?

Thanks
Brian

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#12  Unread postPosted: September 2nd, 2015, 7:18 am

User avatar
**** **
**** **
Site supporter
Single Carb Club
C5 Club

Joined: December 8th, 2009, 1:21 pm
Last visit: Yesterday, 7:19 am

Total Posts: 17773
Active Topics: 185

Total Images: 1718
Location: chuluota florida
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 2:29 pm
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: A bunch in the works
My Bike Logs forum link: viewforum.php?f=121

Profile Personal album

My YouTube Channel
hmmm ok i think you want to relay from back side of kill switch going to ignition ...that will do relay from there back starter button included ..forward would be sparkers coils and all as i see it ...at the moment

_________________________________

Image

thank god and hooch im gone


Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#13  Unread postPosted: September 2nd, 2015, 9:35 am

User avatar
Global Moderator
C5 Club

Joined: June 12th, 2010, 6:35 am
Last visit: Today, 1:43 am

Total Posts: 14883
Active Topics: 151

Total Images: 112
Location: eastern Ohio
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 2:29 pm
Country:  United States (us)
My Bike Models: 98 Valkyrie, 84 Standard, X2 80GL1100,81GL1100,82KZ750,81 Seca750 ++


Profile Personal album

Primary thing you want fresh feed to are the coils. Use the coil feed wire to activate the relay and run the new feed through the relay from the battery side of the solenoid. Do a search for " wiredgeorges coil mod" for more details.

_________________________________

Vote NO on taxes, levies, and incumbents.
Every day I learn I know less than I thought I did.
Every time something is made idiot proof. The world produces a better idiot!
Maturity like wisdom seldom arrives without age. Far too often though age arrives without either.
ImageImage Image
Politicians are like diapers. They need changed often. For the same reason.
A fine is tax you pay for doing wrong. A tax is fine you pay for doing well.
Second place makes you first loser.


Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#14  Unread postPosted: January 20th, 2017, 8:51 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

I now have this relay in my '82 with 1200 engine to switch the electric fuel pump and power to the coils, with separate NO contacts. I have two of them and one has already gone flakey: fuel pump still works but ignition dead sometimes. The other seems be working OK.

I've had these relays for at least 20 years and they were used when I got them so life expectancy is unknown. Don't really want to leave home without a spare relay.

I'm wondering what relays you guys are using for this sort of thing. Would be nice to find another 8 pin relay that would just plug into my base.

Thanks Brian

_________________________________



Top  

Offline

Share Post: Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on MySpace  Post Number:#15  Unread postPosted: January 21st, 2017, 5:46 am

User avatar
**** *
**** *
Single Carb Club
Site supporter

Topic author



Joined: September 18th, 2012, 11:08 am
Last visit: September 12th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Total Posts: 1311
Active Topics: 54

Total Images: 768
Location: Calgary, Canada
Local time: September 22nd, 2018, 11:29 am
Country:  Canada (ca)
My Bike Models: '82 naked Goldwing


Profile Personal album

Just ordered 2 of these. They are an automotive relay and have 30A switch rating so I will use 1 contact for the fuel pump and the ignition. I bought 2 so I will have a spare. Will be able to mount it to the frame and it will look more normal than the relay I have now.

Brian
30282

_________________________________



Top  
Post new topic Reply to topic


Print view |
LOGIN  
Welcome to Classicgoldwings Chat Live Chat:   >   It is currently September 22nd, 2018, 10:29 am
Who Is Online: Ansimp, charles franz .... 2 guests
Jump to:  

Portal » Forums » Repairs and Modifications » Goldwing Customizing

Welcome to Classic Goldwings!
You are now viewing the forums as a guest which has very limited access to the forums.
Log in or create a free account.

Display topics from previous:  Sort by  

Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy

The views and opinions expressed at this public user forum are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy
or position of Classicgoldwings.com, it's moderators or administrators, or it's forum founder or owner.
Any content provided by our bloggers or authors are of their own opinion, and are not intended to malign any religion,
ethic group, club, organization, company, individual or anyone or anything.


Copyright © classicgoldwings.com All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group


CGW - Chat