Gl1100 Front brake bleeding tip

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have an aftermarket master cylinder that is bad, I didn't buy it so I don't know where it came from. I got it on a bike that was given to me. By what I can see in your pic it looks like that.
Their are a lot that look alike but they will have too small a piston in them the link I sent you is for a goldwing specifically for 79-81 that don't have linked brakes not just any master cylinder will work been doing this a long time and this one works perfect for heavier bikes and it has a long arm and travel that the GL's need

Thanks for the info. I have heard of TC Bro before I think I am going to step back take a moment and decide how I am going to go forward. The company I got the other one from is sending a replacement. Guess that might just end up on the shelf. Thanks for all the help I have a lot to digest. I will keep you informed what happens. These brakes will not beat this old Marine. JohnB

Before you give up on a master cylinder, try priming the master with your thumb over the outlet. Open the hole when lever is going in, close the hole when releasing the lever. This will pull fluid from the reservoir into the piston bore, when it builds pressure, reconnect the hoses and bleed normally.

Their are a lot that look alike but they will have too small a piston in them the link I sent you is for a goldwing specifically for 79-81 that don't have linked brakes not just any master cylinder will work been doing this a long time and this one works perfect for heavier bikes and it has a long arm and travel that the GL's need
Well believe it or not I do know some things. The MC I mentioned is bad, it doesn't work and it is the proper bore size for the 80-81 1100s. It acts like the return hole is plugged but it's not, just something not right about it.