Engine noise and brakes

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldWrench

Supporting Member
Reaction score
:( I have a noise coming from the rear of the engine (close to transmission or clutch) It almost sounds like a rod knocking but only at idle. Bring the RPM up and it goes away. I first suspected the clutch but the clutch seems to work ok except at times it will rattle if I try taking off with too low of RPM. Clutch adjustment is a per the book.

Since I’m new to the 1100 I don’t know if this is normal or not, but it certainly don’t sound right. Now that I have tuned it up it runs really well and very strong. However the transmission seems a little rough going into gear at times. The engine has 88 thousand miles on it.

Also brake rotors are worn below minimums. Price for new rotors is outrageous. I ordered some used ones and plan on popping the rivets and machining new rotors, does anyone know if someone has done this before? What I’m looking for a is an automotive rotor I can machine to work. :builder:

I got to tell you guys I really love this bike even though it needs some work. :razz:

Attachments

• Goldwing2.jpg
    Goldwing2.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 216
Have you synced the carbs? When they are out even a little out of balance, the primary chain can really rattle! It mimmicks a rod knock at idle. Also, on the stator cover on the left side of the bike, the bolt has a habit of coming loose and making a rattle or light knocking sound.

You know I stated I tuned the bike, I guess that was only partially accurate. I need to get four vacuum gages and do that. You will notice the 80 on the right carbs are off of it. I’ve just rebuilt them and was thinking of putting them on the 83, reason being I see I think the carbs on the 83 are due to be rebuilt.