Greetings from Oshkosh, WI

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toremitchell

Reaction score
New member here. Next summer will mark my third year living in Oshkosh as well as my third riding season with my first motorcycle, a pretty little '83 Wineberry Aspencade. I was 40 years old when I bought this bike. OK, maybe it was some sort of male midlife crisis which prompted the purchase. Whatever the case, I am glad I got it. It's been a great stress reliever, and a pretty decent replacement for my previous passion of flying airplanes. I am a pilot and aircraft mechanic. Although I still work as an A&P mechanic at Basler Turbo Conversions converting old DC-3's into better-than-new turboprops, I have not piloted a plane for the last couple of years. Flying just isn't as practical or thrilling for me as it used to be.

Most of my riding has been local -- about 1,500 miles per year. One of my most enjoyable weekly outings is to go out for an early Saturday or Sunday morning breakfast on my Wing. I would like to ride more this upcoming year.

Right now, the Aspy is looking a bit forlorn as she sits torn down in the garage. I have been able to take care of a few known issues (rear tire, brakes, etc.), and, not surprisingly, have discovered a few more discrepancies to tend to while I'm at it. I am tackling the steering stem bearing right now. I have not decided yet whether I should just re-torque these head bearings or completely replace them. The bike has about 38,000 miles on it. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tore